GMO Transparency Services

Overview

Today’s consumers care about what’s in their food. The increase in demand for transparency around genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and genetically engineered (GE) food requires a trusted and credible partner to help guide manufacturers and retailers through the non-GMO/GE certification process.

NSF International’s Consumer Values Verified team offers a suite of GMO transparency services, including Non-GMO Project verification and certification to NSF’s Non-GMO True North program. We strive to make this complex process as streamlined as possible for our producer, manufacturer, retailer and restaurant partners.

We also offer other food safety certifications and services to save you both time and expense, and to minimize any disruptions in your operations. We have a thorough understanding of complicated GMO issues and provide a team of experienced program managers and inspectors who care about your business and work together to deliver seamless service you can trust.

To learn how our suite of GMO transparency services can enhance your business, complete the inquiry form or email us at nsfchina@nsf.org, and one of our non-GMO experts will contact you.

 
Benefits

Non-GMO/GE products are projected to grow at a compound annual growth rate of 15 percent over the next five years to comprise 15 percent of global food and beverage retail sales, a market value of $800 billion by 2017, according to Packaged Facts.

Other benefits of non-GMO/GE certification include:

  • Increased opportunities for market share and market differentiators
  • Ability to meet consumer and retailer demand for non-GMO/GE labeling
  • Access to global non-GMO/GE markets
  • Comprehensive risk management
  • Compliance with emerging retail, industry and government requirements
  • Increased consumer confidence and loyalty
  • Independent, third-party credibility for non-GMO/GE claims
  • Compliance with varied domestic and international GMO labeling regulations
 
Why Work With NSF?

NSF has a clear understanding of complex GMO issues. Our certification process for each program has been refined to be streamlined and seamless so we can efficiently and accurately certify your products. NSF’s broad expertise helps us go above and beyond other certifiers. Besides our exceptional service, NSF also provides free online educational resources and webinars. As the preferred certifier for some of the most respected national retailers, we provide you the same first-class customer service that thousands of businesses who trust NSF’s food certification and auditing expertise have come to expect. Our strong industry relationships are a testament to our exemplary customer service, and they help us stay ahead of market trends.

NSF is fully equipped to certify your products wherever you are. We have a global network of hundreds of expert auditors, program managers, inspectors and laboratory staff ready to provide top-notch certification services.

In addition, we can maximize your cost efficiencies and minimize operational disruptions by bundling GMO transparency certifications with other label claims, food safety and GFSI certification services such as:

Food Safety

 
Non-GMO Project Verification

Since 2008, the Non-GMO Project has verified over 20,000 products from over 2,200 brands as non-GMO. Products that have been Non-GMO Project verified include food, beverages, baby food and infant formula, body care products, pet products, vitamins and supplements, wholesale ingredients, animal feed and planting seed.

Products that have passed the Non-GMO Project’s independent verification process are issued a seal of approval. The Non-GMO verified seal assures consumers that these products have been produced according to consensus-based best practices for GMO (genetically modified organism) avoidance.

For more information about the Non-GMO Project, please visit its website.

Enrollment

Enrolling for Non-GMO Project verification with NSF International is done in two easy steps:

1. Complete the Non-GMO Project’s Verification Inquiry Form. This will be sent to Non-GMO Project administrators for evaluation.

2. When you have been accepted by the Non-GMO Project, complete NSF’s Non-GMO Project Inquiry Form. This form will be evaluated by an NSF representative who will then contact you with information on the next steps of the verification process.

Verification Process

When you have completed enrollment with both the Non-GMO Project and NSF, your dedicated NSF project manager will contact you to begin the six-step verification process. The core requirements of the Non-GMO Project standard are traceability, segregation and testing at critical control points to verify that products do not contain genetically modified ingredients.

Step 1: Application
You submit basic information about your products, ingredients, number of facilities, etc. and a sign a participating company agreement and licensing agreement.

Step 2: Document Submission
You provide detailed information about the product(s) you are submitting for review. This includes ingredient lists, production facility information, test results, etc.

Step 3: Document Review
An NSF technical evaluator reviews the documents you have submitted. We may ask for clarification or more information during the review.

Step 4: Pre-Assessment Report and Quote
Your NSF project manager sends you a pre-assessment report and quote for you to review and approve.

At this step, if you would like to bundle inspections to save time and money, please let us know. The Non-GMO Project verification inspection can be combined with USDA organic, NSF gluten-free, SQF, BRC, GLOBALG.A.P., PrimusGFS and CanadaGAP inspections.

Step 5: On-Site Inspection
If applicable, we schedule an on-site inspection with you. We can bundle this inspection with other label claim and GFSI certification inspections.

Step 6: Certification and Ongoing Compliance
Congratulations! Your products are now Non-GMO Project verified and you can use the certification mark!

 
NSF Non-GMO True North

NSF Non-GMO True North was created to assure the integrity of GMO claims and to grow the breadth and diversity of non-GMO/GE verified products sold at retail, and non-GMO certified ingredients sold throughout the supply chain. True North incorporates elements from the EU and Vermont GMO labeling requirements and pulls best practice from commonly used leading food safety standards. Download the NSF Non-GMO True North Standard.

The basic tenets of the NSF Non-GMO True North program are consistent with other compliance verification programs − segregation, traceability, supplier approval, monitoring and testing. Additionally, to ensure consumer confidence and transparency, NSF Non-GMO True North requires risk assessment-based unannounced audits, unannounced chain of custody sampling and independent testing. It also requires manufacturers to perform routine testing.

Tolerance levels are in place which account for the realities of the broader supply chain risks and limitations, ensuring that a market exists to allow more businesses to enter the non-GMO field in order to meet the growing consumer demands worldwide and driving continuous improvement in the supply of non-GMO agricultural value added product.

True North provides an exacting direction for producers, including ranchers, farmers, processors and manufacturers, to use as a guide for their practices. True North standards require:

  • Finished products with less than 0.9 percent GE content (5 percent for feed)
  • Lifecycle feed requirements – Upon weaning or first feed following birth
  • Dairy – Milk cows fed non‐GMO feed a minimum 30 days prior to first certified milking and thereafter
  • Risk-based testing requirements (validated testing method like PCR, ELISA, etc.)
  • Annual audit (risk-based – desk versus onsite)
  • No cloned animals
  • Compliance management system with risk assessment

Certification Process

Step 1: Application
You submit an initial application fee and a completed application packet which includes basic information about your products, ingredient and, number of facilities, as well as a risk assessment. This information helps NSF establish a quote through determination of the product/process risk profile, the documents required for review and whether an initial onsite audit and/or sample testing is required.

Step 2: Evaluation Plan, Documentation Request and Quote
NSF prepares an evaluation plan, documentation request and service contract with a quote. At this step, if you would like to bundle inspections to save time and money, please let us know. The True North certification inspection can be combined with USDA organic, NSF gluten-free, SQF, BRC, GLOBALG.A.P., PrimusGFS and CanadaGAP inspections. To complete this step, send us the signed contract with quote along with your certification fee payment.

Step 3: Document Submission
You submit detailed information about the processes and product(s) for review. This includes SOPs, production facility information, test results, etc.

Step 4: Document Review
An NSF technical evaluator reviews the documents you have submitted. We may ask for clarification or more information during the review.

Step 5: On-Site Inspection
If applicable, we will schedule an on-site inspection with you. We can bundle this inspection with other label claim and GFSI certification audits. Records and procedures will be inspected, and samples may be collected for testing.

Step 6: Corrective Action Review and Certification Decision
Any required corrective action responses will be reviewed for compliance and a certification decision is made.

Step 7: Certification and Ongoing Compliance
Congratulations! Products approved for certification are now eligible to use the NSF certified non-GMO/GE logo.

转基因(GMO)透明度服务

概述

如今,消费者十分关注他们食用的食品中包含哪些成分。随着消费者对含转基因生物的食品和基因工程化(GE)食品的透明度要求的升高,制造商和零售商要通过非转基因(non GMO)/非基因工程(non GE)认证程序,就需要一个可靠可信合作机构的引导。

NSF International的消费者价值验证(Consumer Values Verified)团队可提供从非转基因项目(Non-GMO Project)验证与认证到NSF非转基因真北(Non-GMO True North)方案的一整套转基因透明度服务。我们会尽力为生产者、制造商、零售商和餐厅合伙人简化这一复杂程序。

我们还能提供其他食品安全认证和服务,从而能节省您的时间和成本,同时将您企业运营受到的影响降至最低。我们充分了解各种复杂的转基因问题,并且可为您提供由多位经验丰富的计划管理人和审核员组成的团队,他们会以您的企业为核心,共同协作来为您提供值得信赖的无缝服务。

若想了解我们的整套转基因透明度服务如何促进您的企业发展,请填写调查表,或通过 nsfchina@nsf.org 向我们发送电子邮件,之后我们的一位非转基因专家将会联系您。

 
优势

市场调研出版商Packaged Facts的报告中提到,非转基因/基因工程化产品在未来五年的复合年增长率为15%,其中全球食品和饮料的零售额将增长15%,即,到2017年全球食品和饮料零售额将达到市值八千亿美元。

进行非转基因/非基因工程认证的其他优势还包括:

  • 有可能增加市场占有率并扩大市场优势
  • 满足消费者和零售商对于产品应贴有非转基因/基因工程标签的要求
  • 让您进军国际非转基因/基因工程化产品市场
  • 实施全面风险管理
  • 让您能遵守零售业、工业和政府的新要求
  • 提升消费者的信心与忠诚度
  • 由具有公信力的独立第三方证明非转基因/基因工程声明的可信性
  • 让您能遵守国内外的各种转基因标签法规
 
为何选择与NSF合作?

NSF充分了解各种复杂的转基因问题。NSF已针对每个计划完善认证程序,使其精简凝练、连贯一致,从而能准确高效地认证您的产品。因为我们具有广博的专业知识,从而帮助我们从其他认证机构中脱颖而出。我们不仅能提供优质服务,还能提供免费的在线教育资源并发起网络研讨会。作为美国最广受好评和一些零售商首选的认证机构,我们可为您提供数千家信任NSF食品认证和专业审查技术的企业所期待的一流客户服务。我们具有稳固的行业关系,这表明我们能够提供超值卓越的客户服务,并且这些关系利于我们在市场竞争中保持领先地位。

NSF配有完善的设备,无论您在何处,均能对您的产品进行认证。我们拥有一个由全球数百位专业审核员、项目经理、检验员和实验人员组成的网络,可随时提供顶尖的认证服务。

此外,我们还能让您实现成本效率的最大化,同时将您企业运营受到的影响降至最低,即,通过将转基因透明度认证与其他标签声明、食品安全和GFSI认证服务整合在一起,例如:

食品安全

 
非转基因项目(Non-GMO Project)验证

从2008年开始,“非转基因项目”机构已证明由2,200多个品牌提供的超过20,000种产品为非转基因产品。“非转基因项目”验证过的产品包括食品、饮料、婴儿食品和婴儿配方奶粉、身体护理产品、宠物用品、维生素和膳食补充剂、批发原料、动物饲料和种植种子。

通过“非转基因项目”独立验证程序的产品会获得一个合格标记。非转基因验证(Non-GMO verified)标志向消费者保证具有此标志的产品是依照公认的GMO(转基因生物)最佳实践生产的。

有关“非转基因项目”的详细信息,请访问其网站。

注册方式

要注册“非转基因项目”验证和NSF International验证,只需完成以下两步:

1. 填写Non-GMO Project’s Verification Inquiry Form(非转基因项目验证调查表)。填写完毕后,此表将发送给“非转基因项目”的管理人员进行评估。

2. 当年您通过“非转基因项目”后,请填写NSF’s Non-GMO Project Inquiry Form(NSF非转基因项目调查表)。填完后,将由一名NSF代表评估此调查表,之后此代表将联系您并告知您有关验证程序后续步骤的信息。

验证程序

当您完成非转基因项目和NSF的注册后,您的专属NSF项目经理将联系您以开始执行验证程序,此程序分为六步。“非转基因项目”标准的核心要求是可追溯性、隔离和对关键控制点进行测试,以确认产品不含转基因成分。

第1步:申请
您应提交产品的基本信息(例如,成分和生产设施数量),并签署一份参与企业协议和一份许可协议。

第2步:文件提交
您应提供所提交的产品的详细信息,以供审核。其中应包含成分列表、生产设施信息、测试结果等。

第3步:文件审核
由一位NSF技术评估员审核您提交的文件。审核期间,我们可能会要求您进行情况说明或要求您提供更多信息。

第4步:预评估报告和报价
您的NSF项目经理会发给您一份含报价的预评估报告,供您审核和批准。

执行此步骤期间,如果您愿意接受检验以节省时间和金钱,请告知我们。“非转基因项目”验证检验可与美国农业部有机认证、NSF无麸质认证、SQF、BRC、GLOBALG.A.P.、PrimusGFS和CanadaGAP检验构成组合服务。

第5步:现场检验
若适用,我们会为您安排现场检验。我们可提供此检验与其他标签声明和GFSI认证检验的组合服务。

第6步:认证和持续合规
恭喜您!您的产品现已通过非转基因项目验证,您可以使用此认证标记!

 
NSF Non-GMO True North(NSF非转基因正北)标准

制定NSF非转基因正北标准的目的是保证非转基因声明真实可信,并使零售商出售的非转基因/非基因工程化产品和整个供应链出售的非转基因认证原料能得以广泛化和多样化。正北标准融合了欧盟和佛蒙特州转基因标识法规中的内容,同时从最常用的领先食品安全标准中吸纳了最佳实践。请下载NSF Non-GMO True North Standard(NSF非转基因正北标准)。

NSF非转基因正北计划的基本原则——隔离、可追溯性、供应商批准、监控和测试——符合其他合规验证计划,此外,为了维持消费者信心并保证转基因透明度,NSF非转基因正北标准要求进行基于风险评估的突击审查、样品监管链突击取样和独立测试。它还要求制造商进行常规测试。

为体现大范围供应链风险的真实性并进行含量限制,此标准设立了若干容许含量,它们可确保市场的存在是为了让更多企业加入非转基因领域,从而满足全球消费者日益增长的需求;同时容许含量可促进非转基因增值农产品供应链不断完善。

正北标准为农场主、农民、加工商和制造商等生产者指明了方向,他们可将此标准作为实践指南。正北标准要求:

  • 成品中的基因工程化成分含量不得高于0.9%(饲料含量不得高于5%)
  • 家畜饲料要求–断奶后或出生后第一次喂食
  • 乳制品–在进行首次认证挤奶之前和之后,用非转基因饲料喂养奶牛至少30天
  • 符合基于风险的测试要求(采用有效测试方法,如PCR和ELISA)
  • 进行年度审核(基于风险评估的案头审核VS现场审核)
  • 无克隆动物
  • 包含风险评估的合规管理体系

认证过程

第1步:申请
您应交纳初步申请费,并提交一个完整的申请数据包,其中包含产品基本信息,即成分、生产设施数量以及风险评估。此信息可帮助NSF通过产品/程序的风险预测测定、审核所需文件以及是否需进行初步现场审核和/或样品测试来确定报价。

第2步:评估计划、文件要求和报价
NSF制定评估计划,并准备文件要求和含报价的服务合同。执行此步骤期间,如果您愿意接受检验以节省时间和金钱,请告知我们。正北认证检验可与美国农业部有机认证、NSF无麸质认证、SQF、BRC、GLOBALG.A.P.、PrimusGFS和CanadaGAP检验构成组合服务。要完成此步骤,请将签好的合同(含报价)以及您的认证费用给到我们。

第3步:文件提交
您应提供各项程序和产品的详细信息,以供审核。其中应包含标准操作规程(SOP)、生产设施信息、测试结果等。

第4步:文件审核
由一位NSF技术评估员审核您提交的文件。审核期间,我们可能会要求您进行澄清说明或要求您提供更多信息。

第5步:现场检验
若适用,我们会为您安排现场检验。我们可提供此检验与其他标签声明和GFSI认证审核的组合服务。我们将检验相关记录和程序,并且可能收集测试样本。

第6步:纠正行动审核和认证决定
审核所有必要纠正行动响应的合规性,并且决定是否通过认证。

第7步:认证和持续合规
恭喜您!现在,通过认证的产品就有资格使用NSF认证的非转基因/非基因工程标志。