Food Fraud

Overview

food fraud Food fraud -- the deliberate adulteration, substitution, tampering or misrepresentation of food -- has increased in significance as a result of our complex global food supply chain and costs the food industry an estimated $49 billion worldwide each year.

 

In recent years, high profile and international fraud scandals have harmed and even killed many innocent people. In anticipation of this growing fraud problem, NSF International has mobilized its considerable consulting, testing, auditing and training resources to develop solutions that can combat the potential risk of fraud in the food supply chain.

 

Food safety experts at NSF International agree with many of Professor Chris Elliott's recommendations for combating food fraud. Professor Elliott was commissioned by the UK government to conduct a thorough review in the wake of the 2013 UK horsemeat food fraud scandal. In the Elliott Review into the Integrity and Assurance of Food Supply Networks – Final Report, his recommendations seek to:

  • Create a culture within food businesses that focuses on depriving those who seek to deceive consumers
  • Develop a food supply system that is much more difficult for criminals to operate in
  • Make more robust the role that government and specifically the FSA (UK Food Standards Agency) play in partnering industry efforts in these areas

NSF International, with 70 years of food safety and quality expertise, offers an integrated package of strategic and tactical services and resources to help companies around the world combat the risk of food fraud.

For more information, contact Dan Fone, Global Business Development Director, NSF International Food Division, at nsfchina@nsf.org or +86 21 52377700.

 
Services

food fraud services NSF International offers an integrated holistic solution to help businesses combat the risk of food fraud in their supply chains. We recognize that food fraud is not just a food safety issue for technical and quality functions; it is a complex commercial and supply chain issue. Our solution seeks to understand the potential opportunities for fraud within your company and supply chain; addresses your vulnerabilities in terms of your commercial drivers, buying behaviors, performance measures and company culture; and then puts in place supply chain controls and management.

 

Our seven-step fraud awareness, detection and prevention process combines expert consulting with our proprietary models and analytical tools, science- and sector-based expertise, laboratory testing facilities, and analytical, auditing and certification services.

 

Specific NSF resources available to help address the risk of food fraud effectively in your business include:

  • Market intelligence, horizon scanning and data gathering services to identify current and upcoming fraud risks and map these against your own products, ingredients and supply sources.
  • Expert and specialist consulting resources using proprietary models and analytical tools, which have been developed by NSF International in partnership with global experts including scientists, senior academics, crime and forensic accounting experts and industry practitioners, to identify and prioritize your product, people and policy risks. This includes our Food Fraud Risk Assessment Model.
  • Comprehensive training packages to raise awareness of fraud (and where it may arise in your organization), correct staff behaviors and improve liaison between buying, technical and operational departments.
  • Supplier selection, audit and performance monitoring with Web-based reporting through NSF Online. We have developed a specialist NSF Integrity and Traceability Audit which is a detailed deep dive into the traceability and integrity of the products supplied.
  • Product integrity and traceability services, including specifications development, documentation and design of appropriate testing programs.
  • World-class laboratory testing facilities.
  • Globally recognized certification programs, including GFSI.

Whether you need assistance preventing food fraud or are in the midst of a fraud-related situation, NSF is the trusted partner you’ll want at your side.

 
Why Work With NSF?

nsf NSF International has over 70 years’ consulting, technical, scientific and testing expertise in food safety. Our global resources include a comprehensive network of food safety auditors, world-class laboratories and technical experts. We are partnering with food safety experts, scientists, academics and regulatory agencies to help further define the food fraud problem and provide best practices and controls to help safeguard against it. We have excellent cooperative relationships with both industry and government and have worked on behalf of the UK FSA to develop a food fraud assessment model.

 

These global resources and partners mean that NSF is well positioned to facilitate the required intelligence sharing and cross-border solutions development. Government, industry and even consumers will need to work more collaboratively, while protecting commercial advantage, to combat food fraud. As a global independent organization and leading food safety service provider operating in more than 150 countries, NSF International takes this role very seriously and has been working to provide a host of innovative and advanced food fraud solutions.

食品欺诈

概述

food fraud 食品欺诈——有意的食品掺假、替换、篡改或虚报——鉴于全球食品供应链的复杂性,食品欺诈行为激增,每年给全球食品行业带来了大约490亿美元的成本损失。

 

近年来,引人关注的国际食品欺诈丑闻已经伤害了许多无辜民众,乃至于夺去了他们的生命。NSF International预料到上述食品欺诈问题有增无减,因此,动用了其大量的咨询、测试、审核和培训资源,旨在开发出可以降低食品供应链欺诈风险的解决方案。

 

对于克里斯·艾略特(Chris Elliott)教授有关解决食品欺诈问题的建议,其中的许多建议都获得了NSF International食品安全专家的认同。2013年英国爆发马肉食品欺诈丑闻后,艾略特教授受英国政府委托进行一项全面审查工作。在《Elliott调查:食品供应网络的诚信和质量保证——最终报告》中,Elliott给出了以下建议:

  • 在食品行业内营造一种特有文化——将试图欺骗消费者的食品生产商从本行业内驱逐出去。
  • 设计一种食品供应体系,增加不法之徒在这一体系内运作的难度。
  • 在与相关行业合作解决食品安全问题过程中,让英国政府,尤其是英国食品标准局(FSA),发挥更为重要的作用。

NSF International拥有70年以上的食品安全和质量专业知识的积累,可以提供完整的战略和战术服务和资源,帮助全球企业降低食品欺诈风险。

如需更多信息,可以通过邮箱nsfchina@nsf.org 或电话+86 021 52377700联系NSF International中国公司食品安全部。

 
服务

food fraud services NSF International提供一套完整的解决方案,帮助各个企业降低其食品供应链发生食品欺诈行为的风险。我们认识到,食品欺诈不仅仅是一个技术和质量部门应加以考虑的食品安全问题,它还是一个复杂的商业和供应链问题。我们的解决方案将帮助您找出您公司和供应链中可能存在的欺诈行为;消除您的商业驱动因素、购买行为、绩效考核和公司文化方面的缺陷;以及让适当的供应链控制和管理措施得到执行。

 

我们的“七步式”欺诈感知、检测和预防程序将专家咨询与我们特有的模型和分析工具、科学和基础的专业知识、实验室测试设备、分析能力、审核和认证服务结合在一起。

 

NSF可利用多种资源有效地大幅降低您公司遭遇食品欺诈的概率,这些资源包括:

  • 市场情报、水平扫描和数据收集服务,可以识别当前及未来的欺诈风险,并结合您的产品、原料和供应链来分析这种风险。
  • 专家和专业咨询资源使用特有模型和分析工具,这些模型和工具是NSF International与全球专家(包括科学家、资深学者、犯罪和司法会计专家以及行业从业者)合作开发的,旨在识别您的产品风险、人员风险和政策风险,并对这些风险进行优先排序。它还包含我们的食品欺诈风险评估模型。
  • 综合培训包,旨在提升防欺诈意识(包括在您组织的哪些地方可能会出现欺诈)、校正员工行为,并促进采购部、技术部、运营部之间的联系。
  • 利用基于网络的报告(通过 NSF Online),开展供应商选择、审核和表现监控工作。我们开发了一种专门的NSF诚信和可追溯性审核,可以对供应的产品的可追溯性和诚信度进行深入分析。
  • 产品诚信和可追溯性服务,包括规格书制定、文件编制以及相应测试方案的设计。
  • 世界级实验室测试设备。
  • 全球认可的认证方案,包括GFSI

无论您是否需要我们的帮助来预防食品欺诈,也不管您是否正在寻求防欺诈解决方案,NSF都是您身边值得信赖的合作机构。

 
为何选择与NSF合作?

nsf

NSF International拥有70多年的食品安全领域的咨询、技术、科学和测试专门知识积累。我们的全球资源包括由食品安全审核员、世界级实验室和技术专家组成的一个综合网络。我们与食品安全专家、科学家、学者和监管机构均有合作,旨在进一步帮助您厘清食品欺诈问题,并提供最佳实践和控制措施,从而实现预防食品欺诈的目标。我们与工业部门和政府均有良好合作,并曾受英国FSA委托设计食品欺诈评估模型。

这些全球资源和合作伙伴意味着NSF在促进情报分享与跨行业解决方案开发方面处于领先地位。政府、工业部门以及消费者需要加强合作、保护商业利益,共同打击食品欺诈行为。NSF International是一家全球化的独立机构,同时也是一位业务范围覆盖150多个国家的食品安全服务领域的一流提供商。我们以一种非常严肃的态度看待自己的角色,一直致力于提供一系列创新的、先进的食品欺诈解决方案。