Animal Welfare

Overview

NSF International provides a full suite of animal welfare services for growers and transportation and animal processing companies to help ensure the health and wellness of farm animals at every stage of life as well as compliance to animal welfare guidelines and retailer requirements. The industries we service include beef, poultry, swine, dairy, sheep, layer (eggs) and bison.

As consumers become more educated on the products they buy and food they eat, they are demanding more transparency on how animals are treated and retailers in turn are requiring suppliers to comply with stricter animal welfare guidelines.

To learn more, contact us at nsfchina@nsf.org.

 
Auditing and Certification

NSF International provides certification and second- and third-party auditing for many animal welfare standards in the beef, poultry, swine, dairy, sheep, layer (egg) and bison industries. Below are the standards we can certify or audit to:

Industry Standards

  • NCC: National Chicken Council
  • NTF: National Turkey Federation
  • AMI: American Meat Institute (beef, swine and sheep)
  • Egg Farmers of Canada
  • EU Layer Furnished Cage
  • Cattle BSE and SRM Addendum Audits
  • American Humane Association

NSF Standards

  • NSF Animal Welfare Readiness Audit
  • NSF Global Traceable Down Standard
 
Benefits of Certification

As consumers become more educated and socially exposed about the foods they eat, more companies are requiring that their suppliers follow specific animal welfare guidelines. Scientific measures used to identify an animal’s welfare include living conditions, behavior, longevity, disease, physiology, reproduction and immunosuppression. Humane handling guidelines are critical from birth through slaughter to ensure proper treatment of animals. It is becoming more critical that producers, food service companies and retailers are aware of these standards and ensure their suppliers are in compliance in order limit risk to their organizations.

 
Why Work with NSF?

Founded in 1944, NSF International supports thousands of companies in over 75 countries around the world in protecting their brand and ensuring integrity through consulting, training, certification and second- and third-party auditing.

Many of our animal welfare auditors are PAACO (Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization) trained and certified, and our experts can bring consistency to your farm, transportation or slaughter facility by working with you to evaluate, develop and implement an animal welfare program that fits your company’s mission statement and policy goals.

NSF can combine your animal welfare needs with certification to GFSI benchmarked standards to save you time and money and minimize disruptions to your operations.

动物福利

概述

NSF International可为动物饲养、运输和加工企业提供一整套动物福利服务,帮助确保农场动物在生命的每个阶段均保持卫生与健康,且符合动物福利指导方针和零售商要求。我们提供服务的行业包括食用牛、家禽、生猪、奶制品、羊、禽蛋和野牛。

随着消费者对其购买的产品和食用的食品的了解越来越多,他们对动物处理的透明度提出了更高的要求。由此,零售商也要求供应商更加严格地遵循动物福利指导方针。

如需了解更多,请访问 nsfchina@nsf.org

 
审查和认证

NSF International 可为食用牛、家禽、生猪、奶制品、羊、禽蛋和野牛等行业中的许多动物福利标准提供认证及第二方和第三方审查。以下是我们可认证或审查的标准:

行业标准

  • NCC:全美养鸡理事会
  • NTF:全美火鸡联盟
  • AMI:美国肉类协会(食用牛、生猪和羊)
  • 加拿大蛋农协会
  • 欧盟配置型鸡笼
  • 疯牛病与特定风险物质审查规定
  • 美国人道协会

NSF标准

  • NSF动物福利差距分析审核
  • NSF全球可追溯性羽绒标准
 
认证的益处

随着消费者对其食用食品的了解和社会曝光的增加,越来越多的公司要求其供应商遵循特定的动物福利指导方针。用于确定动物福利的科学措施包括生活条件、行为、寿命、疾病、生理机能、繁殖和免疫抑制。从动物出生到屠宰的整个过程,人道处理指导方针对于确保动物得到恰当对待都非常重要。让各生产者、食品服务公司和零售商了解并遵循这些标准,从而将风险限制在公司内变得越来越重要。

 
为何选择与NSF合作?

NSF International 成立于1944年,可为全球超过75个国家的数千家公司提供支持,帮助保护其品牌并通过咨询,培训,认证和第二方和第三方审核确保诚信。

我们的许多动物福利审查师通过专业动物审查师认证组织(PAACO)的培训并通过认证,我们的专家可通过与您共同评估、制定和实施契合您公司使命陈述和政策目标的动物福利计划,确保您的农场、运输或屠宰厂具有一致性。

NSF可将您的动物福利认证需求与GFSI基准标准结合在一起,节省您的时间和金钱,并最大程度地减少您的运营中断。