Food Safety at home

Even in our homes, food can become contaminated or unsafe to eat if food is mishandled or improperly prepared. Below are some helpful tips for protecting your family against food borne illness in the home?

  • Emergency Food Safety Tips
  • Tips for Safe Food Handling When Guests are Delayed
  • Outdoor Food Safety Tips
Emergency Food Safety Tips

Knowing how to keep food safe during an emergency, as well as how to determine if food is still safe to consume, will help reduce both the risk for foodborne illness as well as loss of food.

Determining If Food in the Refrigerator or Freezer Is Still Safe
When the power is out, keep refrigerator and freezer doors closed as much as possible. Perishable foods such as meats, milk, and eggs need to be refrigerated below 5° C. Frozen foods need to be kept below -18° C. The average refrigerator can usually keep food safely cold for about 4 hours if left unopened. A freezer may keep food safe for 24 - 48 hours depending upon its fullness. Keep a thermometer in the refrigerator or freezer to verify the temperature has not exceeded these temperatures. Discard any foods that have been above 40° F for 2 hours (or 1 hour on 90+ degree days).

Refreezing Food
Food can usually be refrozen if it still contains ice crystals or if the internal temperature is 4° C or below. Discard any items in the freezer or refrigerator that have come into contact with raw meat juices.

Foods to Keep on Hand for Emergencies
Keep foods on hand that don't require refrigeration and that can be eaten cold or heated on an outdoor grill or portable stove. Also keep a three-day supply of bottled water as well as ready-to-use baby formula or extra pet food as needed.

Storing Food Safely in an Emergency
If you live in an area that could be affected by a flood, store food on shelves that will be safely out of the way of contaminated water. Use coolers to help keep food cold if the power goes out more than four hours. Stack items close together to help food stay cold longer.

Cleaning Up After a Flood
Discard all food that came in contact with flood waters. Discard wooden cutting boards as there is no way to safely clean and sanitize them. Thoroughly wash metal pans, ceramic dishes, and utensils with hot soapy water and sanitize by boiling them in clean water or by immersing them for 15 minutes in a solution of 1 teaspoon of chlorine bleach per quart of water.

Tips for Safe Food Handling When Guests Are Delayed

If your guests are delayed, do you know what to do with all of the food that you prepared?

If guests are delayed less than an hour ...
If hot foods are in the oven and guests are expected to arrive within the hour, the food can usually be held safely in the oven. Put a meat thermometer in the thickest part of the meat or in the center of other dishes and adjust the oven temperature so that the food stays at an internal temperature of 60° C or above. To prevent food from drying out, cover the dishes or wrap with aluminum foil. Cold foods should be kept refrigerated until just before serving.

If guests are delayed for more than an hour ...
Hot foods may dry out if kept in a warm oven for more than an hour. If guests are delayed for more than an hour, separate the food in shallow containers and store in the refrigerator. When the guests arrive, reheat the food to an internal temperature of 74° C. Cold foods should be kept refrigerated until just before serving.

If guests cancel ...
If raw meat or poultry was thawed but didn't start the cooking process, the meat can be safely refrozen provided it was thawed in the refrigerator. If the meat or poultry was previously frozen, the quality may decrease if frozen a second time, but it would be safe as bacteria do not grow in the freezer. If you plan to reschedule the party, poultry and ground meats can be refrigerated for two days; red meats like roasts and steaks up to five days.

If the party is rescheduled ...
If the party is rescheduled within three to four days, cooked foods can be stored safely in the refrigerator. For longer storage, freeze any cooked meat or casserole in shallow, airtight containers or wrap tightly with foil or freezer wrap. Cooked foods can usually be stored in the freezer for 3 to 4 months. Most side dishes can also be frozen, although those containing cream sauces may become lumpy when frozen and reheated.

Always reheat cooked foods to at least 74° C.

Outdoor Food Safety Tips

Whether on vacation or enjoying an outdoor activity such as backpacking or camping, if the food your bring with you is handled improperly, foodborne illness may ruin your trip. Here are some tips for making your next trip safer.

Keep Hot Foods Hot and Cold Foods Cold
Between 4° F and 60° C is the range in which bacteria can multiply most rapidly -- they can reach dangerous levels in as little as two hours. Cook raw meat and poultry products thoroughly to destroy bacteria. If you are traveling with cold foods, bring a cooler with a cold source.
Since it is difficult to keep foods hot when traveling, cook foods before leaving home, cool them to less than 4° C, and transport them cold. Cooked foods can then be reheated to 74° C.

Keep It Clean
Because bacteria can easily spread from one food to the next via dripping juices, hands, or utensils, think ahead to avoid cross contamination.
When transporting raw meat, double wrap packages or place them in plastic bags to prevent juices from dripping on to other foods. Also, don't use the same platter and utensils for both raw and cooked meats.

Food Safety While Camping
Planning meals for a backpacking or camping trip requires more thought and preparation. Pack dehydrated, canned or chilled foods. Cook food in advance and refrigerate or freeze overnight. Pack with frozen gel-packs or use boxed drinks as a cold source. If packing frozen meats for cooking, bring a meat thermometer to test for doneness.
When possible, bring bottled water for drinking. If you must drink water from a stream or other untreated source, it must be purified no matter how clean it appears. Boiling is a simple method to destroy most harmful organisms.

A Few Rules to Remember ...
Pack safely. Use a cooler or pack foods in a frozen state with a cold source.
Carry disposable wipes or biodegradable soap for hand and dish washing.
Discard all perishable foods if there is no longer ice in the cooler or the gel-packs are no longer frozen.

家庭用餐

即使在家里,如果我们没有正确处置食品,食品也会被污染。下面是一些有用的提示,以帮助您的家庭远离由食品传播的疾病。

  • 紧急食物安全提示
  • 如果客人晚到如何保证食品安全
  • 室外食品安全提示
紧急食物安全提示

知道如何在紧急情况下保持食品安全、如何判断食品是否可以安全食用,可以帮助我们降低食品传播疾病的风险,并且减少食品的浪费。

如何判断冰箱或冷藏柜里的食品是否安全
断电时,尽量保持冰箱门常关。易腐坏的食品,如肉类、牛奶和鸡蛋,需在4摄氏度下冷藏。冷冻食品需在零下18摄氏度以下冷冻。普通冰箱可以在冰箱门常关的情况下保持4个小时的温度以保证食品不腐坏。冷藏柜根据电量的多少,保证食品不腐坏的时间在24小时至48小时之间。在冰箱或冷藏柜里放一个温度计,以保证里面的温度不超过上述温度要求。如果温度超过4摄氏度持续2小时或超过32摄氏度持续1小时,请将食物丢弃。

再冷冻食品
如果食品一直保持结冰状态或内部温度在4摄氏度以下,食品通常可以再冷冻。如果食品在冰箱或冷藏柜里接触过生肉汁,请将食物丢弃。

拿在手上的食品
无需冷藏、可以冷食或可以在室外烤炉上加热的食品,可以拿在手上。保存3天的瓶装水、准备食用的婴儿奶粉或宠物食品都可以拿在手上。

紧急情况下安全储藏食品
如果你居住在受洪水影响的地区,请将食品放在架子上以免接触到受污染的水。如果停电超过4小时,请使用水冷装置以保持食品在低温状况。把食品尽量堆在一起以帮助食品保持更长时间的低温。

洪水过后的清洁
丢弃所有接触过洪水的食品。丢弃被毁坏的木板,因为它们无法被清洗和消毒。用热的肥皂水彻底清洗金属锅、陶瓷碟等食用器具,用干净的水将这些器具煮沸,或者用一茶匙漂白济兑大约1升水,将器具浸泡15分钟。

如果客人晚到如何保证食品安全

如果客人晚到了,你知道如何处置已准备好的食品吗?

如果客人晚到1小时以内……
如果加热的食品仍在烤炉内,客人在1小时内到达,这些食品仍然可以安全地放在烤炉内。把肉类温度计放在肉类食品最厚的部位,或其他碟子的中间部位,调整烤炉的温度,使食物内部温度保持在60摄氏度以上。为避免食物变干,在上面加个盖子或包一层铝箔。冷食的食品在食用之前应放入冰箱保存。

如果客人晚到1小时以上……
热的食物放在烤炉内超过1小时将会变干。如果客人晚到超过1小时,应将食物分开放在浅的容器里并放入冰箱。客人到达后,将食物重新加热至74摄氏度。冷食的食品在食用之前应放入冰箱保存。

如果客人不来了……
如果生肉和禽类已解冻但未烹煮,肉类可以放入冰箱再冷冻。如果肉类和禽类之前冷冻过,二次冷冻会降低食物质量,但这样可以保证不会滋生细菌。如果你准备改天再准备聚会,禽类和生肉可以在冰箱里存放2天;熟肉,如烤肉、牛排,可以保存5天。

聚会重新开始……
如果3天或4天后,聚会重新开始,熟食可以在冰箱里安全存放。如果需要存放更长时间,应将食物冷冻或煮熟,放入浅口密闭的容器中,或用箔纸、保鲜膜将食物裹紧。熟食可以在冷藏柜里存放3至4个月。大多数菜肴可以冷冻,虽然有些含乳酪的食物在冷冻或加热后会结块。重新加热食物时,温度应在74摄氏度以上。

室外食品安全提示

无论是假期或室外活动,如徒步旅行、野营,如果对食品处置不当,食品传播的疾病将会给你的旅行带来麻烦。以下是一些关于旅行食品安全的提示。

保持热食和冷食的温度
在4摄氏度到60摄氏度之间,细菌的繁殖非常迅速,它们可以在短短2小时内达到危险水平。煮熟生肉和禽类可以杀灭细菌。如果你带着冷食出门,应同时携带制冷装置和制冷源。
在旅途中保持食物热量比较困难,可以在出门前煮熟食物,再冷却至4摄氏度以下。熟食可以再加热至74摄氏度。

保持清洁
由于细菌很容易通过食物的汁液、手或餐具传播,请注意避免交叉感染。
携带生肉时,请包装两层或者将生肉放在塑料袋中,以避免汁液滴入其他食物中。不要将生食和熟食放在同一个餐具中。

野营时的食品安全
为野营和徒步旅行准备食物需要考虑更多。
携带脱水、罐装或冷冻食品。事先将食物煮熟,再冷冻过夜。使用冷冻包装或盒装饮料作为制冷源。如果是冷冻肉类,应携带一个肉食温度计以测试温度是否达到要求。
如果可能,应携带瓶装水饮用。如果你一定要喝溪水或其他未经处理的水,那么不管那些水看上去有多干净,都必须经过净化后才能饮用。一个简单的方法就是将水煮沸,这样可以破坏大多数有害物质。

应该记住的事项……
安全地包装。准备制冷源,使用制冷装置或将食物在冷冻状态下包装。
携带一次性消毒纸巾或可降解的肥皂,清洗手和餐具。
如果制冷装置里已没有冰或冷冻包装不能保证食物冷冻,请丢弃里面已腐坏的食物。